Close Menu

About Us

History

Illinois Institute of Technology was a pioneer in distance education, being one of the first to serve remote students with televised course delivery. IITV, as it was then known, began in the 1970s delivering live course lectures to students at locations across the Chicago area. As technology improved, course lectures moved to the Internet and IITV became the Office of Digital Learning.

Office of Digital Learning proudly continues its strong tradition in video and is a strong partner with faculty and departments across the university to explore new ways to deliver the distinct IIT educational experience to all students.

Accreditation

Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission since 1941. Its most recent affirmation of accreditation was 2006–07, with the next affirmation of accreditation scheduled for 2016–17.

In addition to comprehensive, university-wide accreditation, Illinois Tech’s individual academic units and programs may fall under the purview of specialized/program accreditors.

State Authorization

State and federal laws require colleges and universities to be authorized to offer online degree programs in states other than their own. Illinois is a member of SARA (State Authorization Regional Agreement) and Illinois Tech is an approved SARA  institution. Illinois Tech is currently either authorized, licensed, registered, exempt, or not subject to approval in all states, except Delaware, Kentucky, Utah, and Wisconsin. It is the student’s responsibility to understand current circumstances or special requirements in their state of residence.

Support

Course Scheduling, Course Materials, Exams, or Other Concerns

Online Student Support Services
Phone: 312.567.3460
Email: online.studentsvc@iit.edu

Technical Issues with Blackboard

Support Desk
Phone: 312.567.3375
312.567.DESK
On Campus: x7Desk
Email: supportdesk@iit.edu

The Team

Student Services

  • Charles Scott

    Student Services Manager
    Phone: 312.567.5217
    Email: scott@iit.edu
  • Gwen Bowling

    Administrative Associate
    Phone: 312.567.7957
    Email: bowling@iit.edu
  • Natasha Washington

    Office Assistant
    Phone: 312.567.7958
    Email: washingtonn@iit.edu

Instructional Design and Technology

  • Brad Katz

    Associate Director
    Instructional Design & Technology

    Phone: 312.567.7213
    Email: bkatz2@iit.edu

  • Matthew West

    Blackboard Administrator/Instructional Technologist
    Phone: 312.567.3369
    Email: mwest9@iit.edu

Media Production and A/V Engineering

  • John Kazibut

    Chief Engineer
    Phone: 312.567.7962
    Email: kazibut@iit.edu
  • Jacek Dzikowski

    Ed Tech Manager
    Phone: 312.567.5279
    Email: dzikjac@iit.edu
  • Robert Cantu

    Media Producer / Production Manager
    Phone: 312.567.5969
    Email: cantu@iit.edu
  • Thomas Chiakulas

    Production Assistant
    Phone: 630.682.6090
    Email: tchiakul@iit.edu
  • Richard Ciurej

    A/V Systems Engineer
    Phone: 312.567.5924
    Email: ciurej@iit.edu
  • Lanique Davis

    Multimedia Producer/Editor
    Phone: 312.567.5267
    Email: ldavis12@iit.edu
  • Jose Guzman

    Production Coordinator
    Phone: 312.567.3458
    Email: guzman@iit.edu
  • Jeff Korey

    Station Engineer
    Phone: 312.567.5924
    Email: korey@iit.edu
  • Larry Mackowiak

    Senior Engineer
    Phone: 312.567.3255
    Email: mackowiak@iit.edu
  • Tonishea Martin

    Master Control Supervisor
    Phone: 312.567.3457
    Email: martint@iit.edu